Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Meta

Amazing Aloe

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on January 19, 2010

I’ve been painting these little clay pots so that they can become the home to several Aloe Vera pups I’ve been harvesting the last three months. The painting is simple and relaxing, although with more time, anybody could get quite exotic with the patterns they can paint on the pots. This makes a wonderful Valentine’s Day gift, a Mother’s Day gift – or just something for someone you care about  A few years back in the Awanas program at my church, I had the kids paint these pots to take home [with flowers we had bought] to their moms. I had a fantastic time with the kids and the paint washes so easily from your [their] hands!

This particular batch of pots is getting Aloe transplants. Besides being a pretty plant that is easy to grow – even if you ignore it for a couple of months! – Aloe is a very helpful plant to have. Nick yourself on a tin can in the kitchen? Got an itchy insect bite? How about the yucky pimple on your son’s back….or the one on your face! Aloe Vera is not just another pretty face – but a tool you should have in your garden, along your porch, in your kitchen, even in your bathroom. For a rapid use, you just snap off a blade, cut it lengthwise and slap it on whatever ails you.  With a little preparation, you can make rubs, lotions, gels, masks, foot scrubs and more to help you with anything on your skin that itches, burns, stings or blisters as well as small cuts and dry skin. Do not take this plant internally without proper guidance as it can be harmful to you if ingested without proper preparation. But topically, on the skin, this is one of the easiest plants to grow and use. Try one at your home today!

7 Responses to “Amazing Aloe”

  1. Daniel said

    Thank you for this valuable info.
    I can’t grow Aloe Vera outside because of the climate.
    But I will try inside my home. Indeed, Aloe Vera is a miracle. I hope having a little Aloe miracle in my house.
    I love Aloe Vera and I recommend to all my friends and my blog followers
    Natural, like Aloe Vera

    • Range Officer Rhonda said

      Thanks for visiting my site, Daniel. Please do try the plants in your home; one of my ‘mother’ plants has been inside, never outside, for over 20 years and still doing well and producing pups.

  2. Kathy said

    Just looking at those colorful pots made me smile. Thanks for brightening my day.

  3. Susan Albert said

    Rhonda, these are wonderful! I’m sure they’re going to find some very happy homes. Thanks again for thinking of doing this–

    • Range Officer Rhonda said

      You are more than welcome, Susan. The funny thing about the little pots is not that they are hard to do….but hard to stop!

Leave a Reply

 
