Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Meta

Happy New Year

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on January 1, 2010

I thought it was bad trying to work at home with family nearby – but now I am in Dallas with my SIL & BIL and truly, it’s nearly impossible to think. Family – food – fun – can’t be beat for the proper way to start he New Year!

I didn’t know how much I missed the large family gatherings of my youth. The women, whether in the yard, garden or kitchen – would carry on multiple conversations, sometimes even the teen on the long phone card would wander back into the kitchen and get in the conversation – while maintaining the phone conversation. The men didn’t dare intervene in the hive wanderings – they were relegated to tote and carry.

The first time my husband accompanied me home to the ‘hive central’; I could tell that although he had grown up in a large family, he was not happy listening to more than one conversation at a time before he would start getting irritated, like swatting bees that are buzzing around his head. In fact, I’ve seen him schwap at his head and shake it when he gets irritated – I’ll bet he’s slapping at metaphorical bees!

I just want to wish all my friends, family, clients and especially our troops – a very peaceful and prosperous, loving New Year.

Leave a Reply

 
