Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Lizards mating

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on August 17, 2009

At first, I said Eeeewwww! But I sat there, fascinated as I watched two Anoles mate at a distance so close I could have touched them. We support the efforts of the Anoles & other wildlife to breed in our little garden areas, even to go so far as relocating a toad from one area to about an acre away so that he wouldn’t eat our baby lizards.

Now, to me, watching two lizards mate is not something I want to do, but I couldn’t help but be fascinated, and pleased by the insight – or sight, as it may be. Here is a picture of one of our wild ‘pets’.anole0309 He is often found hanging out on our Sego Palm near my Koi pond. There is a hummingbird feeder that sometimes will drip on the palm and I’ve seen the lizard drink often from these drips. We like to keep them around (the Anoles) because we think they help reduce the mosquito polulation and they are actually entertaining when they do their little mating dances, run around thrusting out their ruby throat sacks. My teenage son swore last year that one small lizard ‘knew’ him because every day when he came home from school, there would be a lizard sitting in the same area of a holly bush at my son’s eye range. Sometimes, a single or pair of lizards in the cold days could almost daily be found on the pole for the hummingbird feeders, catching the day’s rays. We know they eat other bugs as well as we often see them catch moths, June bugs and once, even, a WASP! [I don’t like wasps, so this was a victory for me].

Simple things amuse simple minds, I know, but to me – it’s a reaffirmation of nature. Everything seems to be drying up and dieing, the hens aren’t laying, crops & gardens aren’t producing or just outright dead, animals are producing less milk – but here – here in my tiny little eco-system, life goes on and nature shows us that it can and will continue to produce a life cycle somewhere.

Leave a Reply

 
