Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Mysterious Rose

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on July 20, 2009

After being gone for over a month, I finally have a little time to dedicate to my poor flowers, herbs & vegetable gardens. One of the things I found most curious was my little Yellow Rose. I get one or two giant gorgeous blossoms from this plant, which the deer love, so I finally had to uproot it and pot it so I could move it around. Here is a picture from earlier this year of one of it’s blooms. When I came home on Saturday, there were these tiny little white buds on the plant, which I thought were rather odd.YellowRose09

What it has turned out to be are these small, frilly, lacey WHITE rose blooms on the same plant that always produced yellow rose. Watching further – today – on the SAME plant, I have a couple yellow roses in full bloom and also two of the small white blooms. Here is a picture of the white blooms;

RoseJuly09

I’m sure it has something to do with the stress of the plant this year, the heat, the moving to a pot, the inconsistent watering, etc; I haven’t really researched it. But it’s an interesting thing to see both types of blooms on the plant at the same time – my own little mystery!

One Response to “Mysterious Rose”

  1. Tina said

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery….
    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

Leave a Reply

 
