Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

I’m Back!

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on July 19, 2009

For a little over a month I have been gone; working at a Boy Scout camp called Lost Pines near Bastrop, Texas. We had so much fun, but I would pick one of the hottest summers [and dry] on record to go. Many people, including myself, suffered from dehydration, but my own personal case(s) of it were easily treated with LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of water. I never fell sick as many people did.

What was I doing? In addition to working on the various shooting ranges [Archery, Rifle, Shotgun, Pistol and Muzzle Loading] I was also training a few instructors, Hunter Education students and range masters. Although my main purpose there was to train people and provide certified supervision, my main ‘pay back’ for my time was to make some of the best new friends and memories. And collect stories, of course! ArcheryPrank

One of the various pranks that were played on each area is this cute one on the archery range. If you zoom in, you can see about 300 golf balls scattered about the range and spelled out on the targets are the words, “Archery is hereby banned for it interferes with the practice of Golf”. One of our instructors had earlier made a similar decree about Golf as we kept finding golf balls on our range; he had stated, “Golf is hereby banned for it interferes with the practice of Archery”. Now you get the picture!

Some of the other pranks were cute and hilarious. They include a geometric pattern made by placing the canoes on top of each other, a real Tipi set up on TOP of the dining hall and a paddle boat hanging 5 stories up on the climbing tower. Much fun was had by all! Another good time was the ‘Christmas in July’ party for staff – also known as something like, ‘Our Non-denominational mid summer gift giving extravaganza’. In addition to a great feast [fajita buffet]; the gift giving was funny. To get your secret santa gift, you had to go up onto the porch, then you could not leave until you had opened your present and either ‘eat it, drink it, wear it, use it or abuse it’. No tools allowed – fingers and teeth for opening. Gifts buried in coolers of ice, whip cream, buckets of sand, wrapped in saran wrap or tightly covered with duct tape made this a fun [and too long] night. Drinking from a bottle of tabasco sauce or wearing lipstick [on a guy] or playing [ABUSE IT] with a stuffed doll were some of the highlights. The porch got messy, to say the least.  Good times and good memories!

One Response to “I’m Back!”

  1. Ellen Vance said

    Hey Rhonda,
    I am the daughter of Joe Lindsay Jr., and I just found out that there was a lodge at Lost Pines named after my dad who, I think, founded the Order of the Arrow council for Central Texas in 1936. I know there is a newer lodge named for Ben Lindsay (coincidence, but no relation), but I would love to know if the Lindsay Lodge is a group name or a physical lodge building and if it is a building, if there are any pictures of it.
    My parents were divorced, and I didn’t know my dad well, but my sister and I have been trying to find out more about him and his life. I am from Austin, but I live in Seattle, WA, so I can’t come check it out myself.
    I read your blog, and I thought since you had been there recently, you could help me out.
    Thanks, Ellen Lindsay Vance

Leave a Reply

 
