Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • May 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Meta

HerStories Memoir Challenge – Month 4

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on May 2, 2009

Product DetailsLittle Heathens – Hard Times and High Spirits on an Iowa Farm During the Great Depression By Mildred Armstrong Kalish

Filled with recipes and ‘making do’, Little Heathens transports the reader back to the days of the Great Depression with a refreshing story that immediately welcomes you. The writing is vivid, clear and refreshing with almost the flow of a novel. I really like the way Kalish breaks the book down into sections such as ‘Chores’, ‘Farm Food’, ‘Gathering Nuts’, ‘Leisure Time’ and ‘Animal Tales’ without actually disrupting the time flow of the story. Not only for the recipes and how-to-do-it instructions, I will continue to read and refer back to this book for its timeless advice and feeling of well being I get when I visit the Iowa farms of the author’s memories.

Above is the short review of a book I recently enjoyed. I had so much fun relearning some of the things I remembered from my childhood and visits to both of my grandparents’ farms in Missouri and the Aunt/Uncle farms in Iowa and our own small garden. The author’s family learned many ways to ‘make do’; which is something my mom taught me in life and I’ve often mentioned in my own memoirs. During today’s lean and distressing times, people would be well advised to look into their own lives and find better ways to ‘make – do’ as many of our families obviously learned during periods of war and depressions. Be sure and check out some of the other stories reviewed by myself and others at the Badge-MemoirBookChallenge

One Response to “HerStories Memoir Challenge – Month 4”

  1. Liz said

    Well, I grew up in a large family so I very familiar with the concept of “making do.” I have recently read another great memoir, “Cornfield Heiress.” It follows the author’s life growing up in the’60s (Hop Along Cassidy or Gorgeous George ring a bell?) and her adult life later. She kind of does it all, from involvement with Tennessee Walking horses, to being a carny, to parties, to living on a yacht, to the inevitable affairs with married men or involvement with unavailable men. (And then there’s the cancer later on…) It’s a fun ride.

Leave a Reply

 
