Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • March 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Hummingbird – or not?

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on March 2, 2009

Tonite I saw the cutest thing – it looked like a baby Hummingbird, but I immediately knew what it was – a Hummingbird moth! The picture I will place here is not my own, it comes from www.bird-n-garden.com.  I wasn’t quick enough to get inside and get a camera before my husband scared it away. Our visitor was feasting on the lemon tree blossoms.  This one looked identical though!

hummingmoth1 Last year, in February, I actually saw my first out of season Hummingbird, so I’ve been keeping an eye out for my first visitor of the year. The weather has been very strange and we have even already had our first June bug! Butterflies have been here year round – we could have a freeze one day, followed the next by little yellow butterflies. They especially love the pineapple sage plant, so we plan to expand that plant just for the B-flies.

Sprouting in my garden, despite the last two nights’ freezes: white & yellow onions, crocus, gladiola, tomatoes & potatoes. Indoors we have tomatoes, peppers, squash, cucumbers, radishes,  chives, borage, zucchini, cilantro and more. Last year’s herb gardens were sheltered in the freezes, so there are dozens of recovering plants there as well. Hibiscus & rose are both in bud and ready to bloom. (I have the most wonderful orange Hibiscus plant for teas) One peach tree has already gone past bloom and into fruit; this one we often lose to last April ice storms – the nectarine and other peach trees wait until later to bloom. The deer are attacking the blossoms of everything they can reach, so the battle has begun. They are tired of feasting on my shrubs and want something fresh. Maybe I can stuff one more deer in the freezer…nah. Need to leave room for the spring fish. Fresh bass just the other day!

One Response to “Hummingbird – or not?”

  1. Mike said

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

    ________________________
    The Easiest and Quickest $100 A Day I Know.Email to mike.wilson80@ymail.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

 
