Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

HerStories Memoir Challenge

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on January 7, 2009

I’m always encouraged by the women in Story Circle Network to continue writing, especially life story writing. I started a Memori two years ago and have only completed about half of it. Then I started reading other people’s memoirs and finding that I have grown so much in my life from this experience. Now, a new challenge has arisen – to read 4 memoirs in 4 months and post a 4 sentence review on each one.herstorieschallenge Those of you who know me will appreciate how hard it is for me to limit myself to 4 sentences – even if I am talking about a leaf that fell on the ground. So my challenge will not be to read, learn and enjoy these memoirs – but to succinctly and briefly retell my experience within the book. How fun – a learning it will be! I haven’t completely determined which 4 books I will be reading, but here are a good 3 to start with [can I change later? I don’t know]

1. The Forester’s Log by Mary Stuever

2. Things I’ve Been Silent About by Azar Nafisi

3. Blue Cotton Gown by Patricia Harmon

4. Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

One Response to “HerStories Memoir Challenge”

  1. Hi Rhonda! Thanks for joining our challenge! When you’re ready, the January review post is up, so feel free to post your first review there.

    http://storycircle.typepad.com/challenge/2009/01/memoiring-through-january.html

    Cheers,
    Becca
    HerStories Memoir Challenge
    http://storycircle.typepad.com/challenge

Leave a Reply

 
