Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Meta

Texas Earthquakes

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on November 3, 2008

I mentioned to my husband today that there had been a couple of earthquakes in the Dallas/Ft Worth area on Halloween day – he had not even heard of them. Being the curious person that I am, I did a little searching on the internet and found out some interesting details. I found a map at the library at UT that details the Balcones Escarpment and continues on into OK & Ark to the Ouachita mountains. Then I mapped out the locations of 4 earthquakes within the ‘zone’ that have occurred in the last 6 months. It was fun and interesting to find that all 4 of the quakes, measuring 2.5 or better, were all situated in the Balcones/Ouchita trend, starting at the Balcones fault line. I am wondering, is this a new trend in earthquakes? Should I have quake insurance? Are there more, stronger quakes to come? I’m not being an alarmist, this just happens to be interesting data. People in California and other locations get these all the time – but here – they are an anomoly.

Leave a Reply

 
