Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Seeds

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on October 29, 2008

This is a picture of our Jack-o-lantern for 2008. My son did the carving. Oh, and the towel next to it is my latest Swedish Embroidery project, finished yesterday.Tonite, after the finished project of carving, my son wanted to roast the pumpkin seeds. They turned out very well; here is what I told him to do:

Separate the seeds from all the pulp and wash. Lay the clean seeds on a baking sheet lightly coated with olive oil. Sprinkle salt liberally over the seeds and roast in a 325 degree (preheated) oven for 20 minutes. Be sure to remove the pan and stir after 10 minutes. Let cool and eat! Just a reminder, those that you don’t eat after the first day need to be stored in an air tight container. It was very easy to do and even my teen son enjoyed the process!

For those following the series of “Cast Iron Cooking”, to adapt this recipe for outdoor use, lightly line the bottom of a cast iron skillet with olive oil, place it directly on the coils and heat for approximately 5 minutes; dump in the pumpkin seeds and sprinkle on the salt. Use a LOT of salt – we just sprinkled over the top and it wasn’t enough. Stir frequently and cook for about 5-10 minutes. Do not let them burn. Remove from heat and dump onto paper towel or paper plate to drain and cool. Do not rub them or the salt could come off.

Swedish embroidery: I call the pattern in the picture above ‘Christmas trees and ornaments’. I’ve been experimenting with different designs and colors using the available patterns I have and modifying them a bit here and there. One thing I am trying to find is the same type of pattern books that we used when I first started doing this in the early 70’s. I believe the book is one of the set of 5 produced by Mildred Krieg in the 30’s-50’s. If I can’t find some new patterns, I guess I will have to go on e-bay and order this relic set and hope for the best. There used to be several pattern books available (for Swedish Weaving) using Monks cloth, afghans, huck toweling, etc – but our local Hobby Lobby & Micheals and other fabric stores nearby just don’t seem to carry them any more. Guess I’ll have to experiment with my own designs; maybe with native american designs next. My current project though is to design a towel with a red stocking pattern. Help! This is harder than it looks. I could just switch over to Crewel Embroidery – now that is a piece of cake!

Leave a Reply

 
