Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Hawk attack

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on October 20, 2008

A fantastic piece of nature played out within arms reach of me today. I was sitting on the front porch near the Koi pond, when suddenly, an explosion of feathers hit the Sego Palm & holly bush in front of me. Then, in a blink, a little blur flew in front of me, quickly followed by a Hawk as they battled it out in the Red Tip Photenia. If I had bent over and stuck my hand out, they would have brushed my fingertips – it was so close! If only I had a camera.

Broad Wing Hawk

Broad Wing Hawk

After much research in our bird book and a few pictures on line, I determined that this bird was a Broad Wing Hawk, not your typical Red Wings of the area. For the past couple of weeks, my son and I have seen several hawks hunting the area, different from the normal buzzards we have. So this explosion of fury, while exciting and unexpected, I guess was bound to happen somewhere nearby. I guess they must be in their winter migration.

Oh, and by the way – the sparrow got away! (This time)
Leave a Reply

 
