Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Plum Buckle?

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on September 8, 2008

OK, I’ve heard the word before [buckle] but didn’t really know what it was when I came across it in a book I was reading a while back. Soooo…. I did some research on Plum Buckle and found out it’s basically a buttery cake with fruit bubbling on top. OK, that sounds good. Sounds just about like most of the Dutch Oven cakes we make anyway, so I’ll give it a go. I made one, but used two fruits so I could try it both ways.

Fire up the coals, making sure you have enough for what you are cooking on the grill with a few left over for the good old Dutch Oven dessert! Tonite we are having: Grilled Chicken Tikka, Veggie Shish-Ka-Bobs and Plum (Peach) Buckle. The Grilled Chicken and Veggie Ka-bobs you can make any old way you like. I happen to love Chicken Tikka (marinated from this AM with yogurt, fresh ginger, chile, coriander – the spices from my garden) and the veggies splashed with just a bit of soy sauce and olive oil. For the veggies today we have small green tomatoes, fresh yellow squash, pimiento peppers, bell peppers and small onions. Each Chicken Ka-bob has a slice of lemon on one end and a couple slices of peaches. Yes, the lemons and peaches are from my garden as well as the veggies and herb seasonings.

OK, the grill is hot, the chicken and veggies on the grill, now it’s time to Buckle up!

Fruit Buckle

Line your Dutch Oven with foil and oil VERY lightly or use a cooking spray on the foil. Instead of the dump cake method, I took my store bought cake mix, left out the oil, used only 1/3 of the water it called for and stirred till damp.  I spooned this into the lined Dutch Oven, then I sliced a half stick of salt free butter over the top. On top of this, I placed on one half some sliced ripe plums and on the other half some sliced peaches, barely overlapping the edges. It took 3 of each fruit. I carried the pot outside, pulled the food off the grill, removed the grilling screen and set the Dutch oven into the coals. I put about a dozen coals on top of the DO, and went in to eat. After about 30 minutes, I checked the Buckle, decided it was done and we proceeded to eat it. Now I am love with Plum Buckle a la Dutch Oven! (The peaches were great too)

If I were to make this recipe in the oven, I would preheat the oven as indicated on the package, prepare the cake mix as per directions, pour into greased pan, top with fruit, then bake as indicated on package but ADD 10 minutes to the baking time.

Leave a Reply

 
