Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Women’s Wilderness Escape

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on July 31, 2008

In July, I was priviledged to attend (as an instructor) the NRA’s Women’s Wilderness Escape in New Mexico. Many of the pictures and stories you will see on this blog for the next month will be about that event; mostly the wildlife in that region of NM.

Among some of the events the “Escapees” were treated to are Pistol Shooting, Rifle, Shotgun and Muzzleloading, Archery, Turkey calling, Tree stand use and safety, Refuse to be a Victim training, High Powered Rifle shooting, building wilderness shelters, wildlife viewing, camping under the stars, Cowboy Action Shooting with a bonus CA Fashion show (those corsets! Wow!), a Blessing Ceremony, Laser Shot and more.

With over 30 staff and instructors, most high in the Type A personality profile, the women attendees were treated to a high caliber of experience. Sure, there would be glitches and disputes, as par for the course, but the professional team assembled on site were up to the task. I hesitate to comment on personalities (did I mention the Type A’s?) and my feelings on them, but stand firm when I say these women (and a couple guys) are the most fantastic people I have ever worked with. I’ll include some of the funny and interesting stories and hopefully not step on any toes. I’ll try to keep names out of it with the exception of some first names, nicknames and hints alluding to what they do. This event differs from many of the courses I have taught in that not only was it instructional – but it was also emotional. My profound thanks go to the ladies that invited me along for the ride. Now that I’ve been on this trail, I hope to ride back for more and meet more beautiful women. I wish I could include every person there in my life and finish every conversation ever started there, but time was tight with an overfull schedule and opportunities sorely missed.

8 Responses to “Women’s Wilderness Escape”

  1. Karen Whitmore Naill said

    This Wilderness Escape was the highlight of my year. You are correct in saying that the Escape was amazing and it was a pleasure to be on staff with you. You have my permission to post my name and email. Your blog is great too. KWN

  2. Frances Cruz said

    It was a once in a lifetime experience! I’m glad I was able to be a part of something that brought women of all ages to come together and share this wonderful experience. I met many wonderful people and have made new life long friends. I will always remember and a big thank you to all the great instructors, who took time out of their lives to share their knowledge and expertise with us.

  3. Ronnie's Ramblings said

    Frances –
    Thanks for your comment. I hope many of the women who attended had as great of a time as I did and pass the word on to their friends. Hope to see you there again next year!

  4. Susan said

    Thanks to an email from Frances, I just found this website. I wanted to tell you that the Women’s Wilderness Escape was the best vacation of my life. First time ever that I came home from vacation totally de-stressed and relaxed. I had the time of my life and really didn’t want to leave. I highly recommend it to any woman.

  5. Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected when I found a link on SU telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.

  6. mercerd said

    interesting material, where such topics do you find? I will often go

  7. Amy said

    Hey – I found this page by mistake. I was searching in Bing for Registry software that I had already bought when I found your site, I have to say your site is really cool I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time this minute to totally read your entire site but I have bookmarked it and also will sign up for your RSS feed. I’ll back around in a day or two. Thanks again for a great site.

Leave a Reply

 
