Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

June too soon, July flies by

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on July 5, 2008

Already it is July and the first part of summer is over. With the end of June, my son and I find ourselves home again after a week of camping in the searing heat of Boy Scout camp, this one located west of Ft. Worth, Texas by about 60 miles. I have to say this was one of the most miserable camps I have been to, mostly due to the weather (101-103 every afternoon), the terrain (up or down with hernia hill thrown in), the fire ants, the one hole latrine shared by 35 men and not too clean (women’s rest room 1/2 mile away up hill through the trees) and the very bad food consisting mostly of starchy foods and beef, of which I can eat neither. Even the meat/pasta/bread eaters said it was bad. The first night had some of them throwing up. YUCK! The camp program, classes and attitudes were great though and most of the boys had a great time. The staff were great too. I’ve been to over 1/2 dozen of these week long camps and just don’t remember it being this bad. Last year, in particular, was so fantastic as we rode horseback into the wilderness of the Davis mountains and slept on the ground for a week with only a ground tarp, blanket, personal items to fill one small saddle bag, the clothes on our back and a couple water bottles. Maybe I’m just getting old. But I’m glad we went as my son got his coveted Certified Life Guard & CPR credentials. It was tough and I am proud of him. as usual, I spent most of my time helping at the gun range. But that’s another story….

Leave a Reply

 
