Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Moms and Hummingbirds

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on May 10, 2008

Since I earlier in the month mentioned a pregnant hummingbird, I’d like to report her status. After no sign of her for two days, I finally did see her back at the feeder, no suspicious lump in her belly. I guess she finally finished laying her eggs. Poor thing, she just looks ruffled and haggard. She’s not sleek and beautiful like the ruby throated males or the black/gray birds with brilliant white neck bands. She is just kind of blah with her tail feathers worn and maybe plucked to feather the nest. She’s flying better and faster though, now that she’s done growing and depositing her eggs somewhere near by.

Speaking of mothers -this is funny. We have what we like to term as an animal friendly yard. There is plenty for all and often seems we are at war to get the fruit, veggies, herbs or just flowers to prosper with nature taking a whack every time we turn around. Recently, my husband decided to start saving his coffee grounds to use around the garden. He had a plastic red Folgers can, sans lid, sitting on the patio table with a few grounds in it. One day, we noticed this little wren kept jumping in, spending a minute or two, then leaping out and taking off. We thought this was hilarious and that the wren must have an addiction to caffeine. For three or four days we watched this activity, then yesterday, my husband called me out to the yard. He asked me to look in the coffee can. So I did. Guess what? There are no more coffee grounds – just a cute little bird nest. Now, this is on our patio table, not two steps from the back door, which is constantly in use. What to do? Should we move the nest to a less conspicuous spot? Finally, we just decided to not touch the can and leave it there on the table. Hey – if Mama Wren wants to be part of our social circle, she’ll just have to put up with the in and out traffic. Hopefully, the next major wind storm won’t blow the can off the table and send it flying across the yard. No, there are no eggs yet. If they show up, I’ll take a picture and post it here. We don’t often have Wrens here, so I hope she makes a successful home here amongst the cardinals, mockingbirds, finches, wild canaries, sparrows, dove and other such critters.

Momma lizard seems to have done well this year – there are dozens of cute little green lizards living out front by the pond. Momma is docile and often suns herself on the Sego Palm  – except when the boys start their posturing and red throat displays. Then she vanishes while they chase around and try to find her.

Momma bunny is giving me fits. Bad momma! After she had her babies, about 4 of which lived and have scampered off now to live in the woods, she keeps coming back. She sits at the edge of the fence and torments the dogs, she can be found there day and night. Now that is OK – we’ve got the big garden fenced and rabbit/deer proofed and the barrel gardens are inside the fence with the dogs. But momma and her relatives are eating my flowers. This week, the cannas, which were slow to come up, get eaten down every couple of days. Now, I did have a wire barricade around them, but my husband saw fit to remove it and said it wasn’t necessary. Wrong. Now my barricade is back up and the cannas are almost 6 inches tall. They have a LONG way to go.

Momma squirrel is getting to be a pest too; mostly because she started to dig for acorns – and now the dogs can’t stop digging there. Then, when the squirrel gave up on the back yard, she came around front and is digging up my pansies. What could she want with pansies? She sits on the corner of my roof just above the koi pond, still as a gargoyle. I think she believes I don’t see her. When I turn to go into the house, she jumps down in the gardens and starts to dig. I’ll have to get a shot of her gargoyle pose, it’s cute – her damage is not.

One Response to “Moms and Hummingbirds”

  1. I enjoyed your post. I too love hummingbirds. I thought it interesting that your post was about moms and hummingbirds, because hummingbirds always make me think of my mom because she loved them so very much and is no longer living. She past away on September 16, 2006.

    As you may or may not already know, hummingbirds usually lay two each each time. It is the sole responsibility of the female hummingbird to build the nest and raise the young. The male hummingbird as no part in raising the young whatsoever.

    I too have started a new blog. It is called hummingbirdsformom.com. It allows me to share the love of hummingbirds with others while also horring my mom’s memory. I hope you will check it out and enjoy it. Please feel free to let others know about it and to leave any comments you may have.

    Also, if you would like much more information about hummingbirds, please click the link below. The site contains many articles about hummingbirds, video clips about hummingbirds, an informative tips booklet on hummingbirds, and much more.

    Click Here To Visit About Hummingbirds

    Happy hummingbird watching everyone!

Leave a Reply

 
