Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Making Easter Eggs

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on March 22, 2008

eastereggs0011.jpgeastereggs006.jpgToday I experimented with various leaves, fruit and veggies to color my easter eggs. Using beet juice, onion skins, dried orange rinds, dried lemon peels & turmeric, Redbud flowers, rosemary leaves and flowers, green clover leaves and other things, I steeped several things in boiling water to get colors I wanted. I am ashamed to say I had to use blue food coloring too since I couldn’t recreate the color. After I got several colors, I heated up about 1 cup of each liquid (Strained) to almost boiling, added 1 tablespoon of vinegar and dropped in the empty eggs I have been blowing out for about a week. The results were great (although my coffee cups are stained). These eggs, which I have drying on bamboo skewers, will make a great centerpiece with all the rosemary branches and their little purple flowers that I chopped from the garden today. Maybe a sprig of my red bud tree too. Now I just have to find one of the digital cameras, son’s is missing & husband’s is in the truck; I really need one of my own.

Leave a Reply

 
