Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Senior Dementia

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on February 22, 2008

Today I wrestled with phones and fax as I dealt with the State Social workers doing some checking on my father, who has a form of Dementia which exhibits alzheimer-like symptoms. More complaints have come in and in his stubbornness, dad doesn’t want to move from a condo to any type of assisted living facility or even move closer to some of his family. Now the state wants to know if I am interested in taking my father to court to get guardianship and place him in a home. This is so hard for me. I guess I will take a week off and drive up again to see if I can put another bandaid on the problem as I’ve been doing for the past few years when trouble crops up. He refuses to admit he has a problem and wants to retain his independance, even if he doesn’t remember who I am sometimes or that he just talked to me yesterday. The car insurance people must love him – he’s been fixated on this one bill and so far has sent them about 8 checks to pay his one quarterly installment. Thank god they are honest! Same with his property taxes, I hear he’s been in to pay them 2-3 times a week for the past several weeks. They are just getting irritated. He’s so vulnerable right now and that really scares me.

Leave a Reply

 
