Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Archives

  • Meta

That’s Not My Job

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on February 14, 2011

Time for a little venting here. Just a little.

One of the things I really hate to hear is someone, supposedly in authority, who spews the phrase out to me that “That’s Not My Job”. Grrrr I went through this today when I tried to be a good citizen and report that somebody had dumped a dead deer in my driveway.

First of all, for many of you that don’t know me well, one of my jobs is a VOLUNTEER, not paid, Instructor & Area Chief for Texas Parks & Wildlife. Now, I guess it is conceivable that one of my neighbors thought I would appreciate this gift of a young deer carcass. NOT. It is illegal for anybody to take or use any part of an animal that was ‘harvested’, aka, make dead, by a motor vehicle. Why someone would think I would want this gift is anyone’s guess.

So I made some calls. First was to animal control because they are in charge of catching loose animals & wildlife or helping you trap and relocate varmints. THAT’S NOT MY JOB, they say. OK, who then? Well, you’re supposed to call the police so they can write up a report for your insurance. But the animal was there – no vehicle. So the police? THAT’S NOT MY JOB. So who do I call? The garbage/waste management people. You got it – THAT’s NOT MY JOB – we aren’t allowed to touch dead animals. OK, so who do I call? Let me connect you with the streets department of your local utility company – it’s THEIR job. So what do they say after I select #3 and #1 and #####…’leave a message’.
Eventually, after many calls, I did find out it was the street & highways department that is responsible – if the animal is in a street. [It was in my yard]. Well, the animal moved mysteriously a couple yards into the street and I suspect a certain person or two put a bug in somebody’s ear…and the deer is finally gone.

It shouldn’t be so complicated for a person to handle a simple little problem. I can see why so many people take the law into their own hands and just handle the problem. I don’t condone this type of action, but if I hear that phrase one more time…..

5 Responses to “That’s Not My Job”

  1. bobbi c. said

    Hey Rhonda….In Leander, the Game Wardens control all dead animals. You might have to haul it into the road, though. :-p

    bobbi c.

  2. Lee said

    Rhonda…
    I’m with you – I really hate to hear “Not My Job” and believe me, I hear it alot where I work and out in the community. Why can’t we all just work together to make work, our community, the world a better place?
    Then there’s the deer – too bad you don’t live here – the Bays Mountains Wolves feast on “road kill deer” all the time — they’d be thrilled to know you had a dead deer on your property! But, I don’t know of anyone else who would be thrilled. Hope you get this resolved – and soon!

  3. Things have changed since my growing up years in Northeastern Pennsylvania. Most times, if someone hit a deer they just stopped and tied it to the car and took it home to eat. If they did not want the deer, the next person who came along usually did. No one was ever called, especially not a government representative. It was FOOD and not to be wasted. Everybody had plenty of ways to cook and serve venison. I wonder if that is still true today? Sorry for all the aggravation, I know it can take both time and emotion away from more interesting pursuits… like making soap!

  4. Range Officer Rhonda said

    I didn’t mention in my posting, but I DID contact the Game Warden. Unfortunately, he STILL has not called me back. If he had been my first contact [and I got a real person] I probably would have gotten it resolved sooner and I may have been able to skin the animal and use the skin and leave the rest in the woods for the Mountain Lion and coyotes that live there. They appreciate the feast almost as much as the buzzards. As for eating Road Kill, well, this may spark an article for one of the magazines I contribute to; I grew up in a society where it was common to eat this easily acquired ‘meat’ where money wasn’t readily available for buying from a grocer or butcher.

  5. Dani said

    I don’t mind it when someone says “I don’t know, but I’ll be happy to find out.” It still may not be their job, but it sure sounds more like they care about you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

