Rhonda's A 'Muse'-ing Rambles

Life and Times of a Busy Woman

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Repurposing

Posted by Range Officer Rhonda on January 3, 2011

This is slightly off my normal post, but I wanted to share a picture with everyone. Often, when my husband or I are off in the woods somewhere, we find interesting pieces of wood. I can’t tell you how many of these make their way home with us because we want to ‘make’ something. My current one is a root that with a little work could look like a deer feeding. It’s cute.

For Christmas this year, my husband took a piece of wood he had found and with a little skill and a lot of time, turned it into a beautiful living room table for his brother. The base is made from a huge cedar root. In addition to the two cedar root ‘legs’, there is a third piece that he turned into a companion plant stand, but I didn’t get a picture. This table is a slab of Black Walnut and it is just as interesting on the bottom [with more bark showing underneath] as it is on the top.

Now, if only he [my husband] could do this kind of work all the time and get paid for it!

6 Responses to “Repurposing”

  1. susanideus said

    There surely would be a market if he did make more like this. Just stunning!

  2. Dani said

    Wow, that’s some kind of elbow-grease to get that shine. Nice! Did you BIL love it?

    • Range Officer Rhonda said

      Absolutely, Dani. And what you see here is prior to the poly whatever coat he put on [and that is story in itself because of temps & curing times!]

  3. Robert said

    Nice work. I used to make sculptures (and a few tables) out of the cedar and walnut driftwood from Lake Whitney. I always had too much work in the furniture to make anything selling it. Did alright on the sculpture though. That really is a great table.

    Robert

    • Range Officer Rhonda said

      Thanks from my hubby, Robert; that’s high praise coming from you. You know, I think my deer sculpture in the making wood came from Whitney! I just wish I could do it justice.

  4. patbean said

    Beautiful table

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

